News‎ > ‎

Crest High School Receives Recognition at the State FFA Convention

posted Jun 27, 2016, 4:41 AM by

Shelby, North Carolina – FFA members from Crest High school attended the North Carolina State FFA Convention in Raleigh, North Carolina June 21st to June 23rd.  The Crest FFA Chapter was recognized for placing first in the State FFA Poultry Evaluation and Agricultural Sales Career Development Events held earlier in the school year. Members of the state winning poultry team are Emily Keener, Charlie Qualls, Bobby Petursson and Caroline Yount.  Members of the state winning Agricultural Sales Team are Ashley Davis, Justin Henson, Bobby Petursson and Caroline Yount.  Yount was also recognized as the state high scoring individual in both contests.  

In addition to the awards for previous accomplishments the Crest FFA also received first place in the Agricultural Communications Career Development Event held at this year’s convention. The Agriculture Communications team consisted of Casey Bright, Ashley Ellis and Katelyn Ogren.  All three state winning teams will qualify students to compete in the national contest held in Indianapolis, Indiana in October.  The Food Science CDE team also placed sixth out of 47 teams.  Members include Kaitlyn Bates, Nathan Blanton, Lauren Eaker, and Sarah Robbins.   

Caroline Yount was selected to represent the North Carolina FFA Association at the National Convention as a convention delegate. She will travel to Indianapolis with the North Carolina FFA delegation and will conduct official business guiding the future of the National FFA Organization.

Agriculture teacher, Kaye Harris, received the Honorary State FFA Degree on Wednesday night of the convention for her service as an agriculture teacher and current president of the North Carolina Agriculture Teachers Organization.  

The convention closed on Thursday with a final award for the chapter being ranked third overall in the state in the National Chapter Award program.  This award evaluates the total efforts of the chapter to improve its local community, school and individual students.      


Front row left to right: Kaitlyn Bates, Katelyn Ogren, Casey Bright, Ashley Ellis and Lauren Eaker

Back row left to right: Bobby Petursson, Sarah Robbins, Justin Henson, Caroline Yount, Nathan Blanton